In the garden: Coriander

While most Asian countries call it coriander, the rest of the world calls it cilantro. Coriander has tiny seeds, that can be use  whole, crushed or powdered. In Indian cooking, for its flavor and leaves, we use to make chutney and garnish foods. Coriander leaves are more popular in Mexican cooking as cilantro to make salsas and guacamole. Besides being an aromatic and flavorful herb coriander has many health benefits.

As we know, herbs are very expensive to buy. Growing your own herbs are not only cheap but you have fresh herbs available whenever you need and nothing beats fresh herbs from your garden. Coriander is cool season herb that can be planted in fall and spring. It needs some sun and well watered and moist soil. Coriander don’t like heat so in warmer weather plants starts to make flowers and then produce seeds.

Since I live in south, some of my plants produce flowers. I let them grow so I can have some seeds to use in cooking and save some to plant next season. If you just want to grow for leaves, you have to keep cutting leaves as they grow. You will have a chance to cut fresh leaves for two or three times before it stops growing more leaves.

I let some of my plants grow not just for seeds but their pure white flowers I love.
Here are some pictures of my coriander plants, flowers and seeds for you to enjoy.

image

image

image

Hope you like my garden.
Do like my page, share and inspire others.

Leave a Reply

